Dance Off!

I’ma dance off these shackles!
I’ma dance off these bonds!
I’ma dance off these bindings
that I have got stuck on!

I’ma dance off these chains!
I’ma dance off these pains!
I’ma dance off this Cassius Clay!
I’ma dance off my slave name!

I’ma dance off this judgment!
I’ma dance off this debt!
I’ma dance off this sentence,
and find my freedom yet!

I’ma dance off your dirty looks,
and your evil eye!
I’ma dance off your wordy books!
I can’t be classified!

I’ma dance all up in your face!
Don’t avert your eyes.
I’ma dance all over the place!
I’ma bridge divides.

I’ma dance off these shackles!
I’ma dance off these bonds!
I’ma dance past these jackals;
I won’t let them respond.

I’ma make dance my battle!
I’ma drop a dance-bomb!
I’ma siege their castle,
and finish what they spawned!

I’ma make bonds unravel,
and make a new day dawn.
With my dance I’ll travel;
I’ma dance off beyond!

This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

