The First Key

“This is the labyrinth. These are the keys.”

I awoke startled by the sound of someone speaking. Suspicious, I didn’t move but glanced my eyes around the room. Nothing seemed amiss.

I had a strong feeling of a vivid memory slipping away; as if images had just been before my eyes, but quickly blurred. It was not unlike the feeling of a word on the tip of your tongue but just out of reach. I grasped and pried, clawing for my lost dream, but it was gone; sunk into the ephemeral mud of my subconscious mind. Like trying to escape quicksand, struggling only made it worse.

Life is the labyrinth, I’ve always known that, but keys… what are the keys? What do they open? Where are the doors? Which direction do I go? Am I even asking the right questions?

Maybe the analogy still holds. I’m still in the quicksand. It’s coming up over my nose!

Stop struggling.

Better to simply spread out, relax, and wait.

Surrender is the first key.

I return to sleep, and the images come back into focus.

This entry was posted in Dream, Prose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

