Fully Empty (#tbt)

Something wicked this way comes.
Thick, wretched air chokes up my lungs.
A grey-green smog blocks out the sun.

Terror sets in, I start to run.
I fear my time here may be done.
I stumble, fall, now hope there’s none.

Now, staring up at darkened skies,
A thought dawns on me, I realize
that above the smog the sun still shines.

And so, I think, is my life too.
What I thought was one is part of two.
And two is one too, so what is true?

This fear, it’s clear, is the same way
A fleeting feeling that does betray
A greater awareness that underlays

Once you know that, your fear allays
And suddenly all things seem just halfway
Doomsday becomes a grand gateway
to the empty awareness that is always.


This post is part of my throwback thursday series and originally appeared on 5/5/16 as part of #MayBookPrompts day 5 prompt “Something Wicked This Way Comes.”

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

